A Tale of Two Valleys: Wine, Wealth and the Battle for the Good Life in Napa and Sonoma by Alan Deutschman

A Tale of Two Valleys: Wine, Wealth and the Battle for the Good Life in Napa and Sonoma by Alan Deutschman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked up this book purposedly for a travel article I am currently working on. So I have visited Napa and Sonoma Valley, but I think I need more indepth feel about the places, so imagine my surprise as I stumbled upon this book. Although the book is still far from finish, but it cease to amaze me so far.. and here are some of my fave pharagraphs.. I wonder why such book didn’t get famous..

“A well known vineyard is known for zinfandel, a grape that had become popular in California. It wasn’t one of the classic grapes of old Europe, like cabernet sauvignon or chardonnay, that gave an advantage to the French because they had a head start of a thousand years.”

“An American vintner specializing in zin instead of cab was like a classically trained pastry chef whose signature dish was her grandma’s country apple pie rather than tarte tatin or crème brûlée. She couldn’t affect a snobbery and she had to forgo the gratification of having her creations compared directly to those of French masters. Nonetheless, she made something that was beloved and delicious. ”

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

